Emacs on OS X

Since a few weeks ago, OS X is again my primary development environment. That means that i’ve been preparing up a proper Emacs setup, including quack, slime, slime48, paredit and some C stuff. As customary, i’ve put my configuration (split into small files) under configuration control: you can browse the darcs repository thanks to the excellent darcsweb.

The main file (i.e., the one i link my .emacs to) is emacs.el, and all those other little ones named jao-something include (disposable) configuration. This configuration works in my Tiger 10.4.3 with the Carbon Emacs package.

Happy hacking!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Emacs on OS X”

  1. Johanna Says:

    Hi Aaron. Thanks for stopping by.As far as I can tell, nevsrree is part of Elisp proper. It’s in the Elisp manual and the source is not in the cl source files. The rotatef function is, of course, part of the cl package.I did indeed forget to put the (require ‘cl) in the code and the reason I did serves as a reply to your distinction between Elisp and the cl package. I don’t have (require ‘cl) in my init.el file because long ago I had some silly notion that it wasn’t really part of Elisp and would just make the Emacs footprint larger. Nonetheless, I still have access to all the CL extensions presumably because some other package that I do require loads it. That made me rethink my previous decision to not add it. It boils down to this: The cl package adds useful functions and macros to Elisp and it’s silly not to make use of them especially given that some package you load anyway is going to call them in.I really don’t know why the maintainers don’t just make it part of base Elisp and have done with it. I suppose for the (typical, I guess) Emacs user that makes all his tweaks using the custom interface and never writes in Elisp it might make sense to separate it out but not much. For those of us who do use Elisp, why not make as much functionality available as possible? Elisp is sometimes accused of being a bad Lisp because it doesn’t have all the feature of CL but with the cl package, you get most of the important things except for lexical closures (coming) and a package system.


Leave a Reply

